SDM Defeats Application for Temporary Injunction
October 11, 2019

On October 9, 2019, a week after an ex parte temporary restraining order was entered against SDM’s client, Viceroy Petroleum, L.P., SDM lawyers Santosh Aravind and Mary Byars successfully convinced a judge to reject an application by a landowner, Cloverleaf Ranch, LLC, for a temporary injunction that would have prevented Viceroy from conducting drilling operations.
Cloverleaf’s ex parte TRO effectively blocked Viceroy from crossing Cloverleaf’s property to access a drill site on a neighboring surface tract, even though Viceroy owns an undivided mineral interest underneath both properties. After an evidentiary hearing in the 240th Judicial District of Fort Bend County, the court denied Cloverleaf’s application for temporary injunction, finding Cloverleaf had failed to establish irreparable harm, and dissolved the temporary restraining order. SDM’s work in defeating the temporary injunction allows Viceroy to cross Cloverleaf’s property to conduct their drilling operations and to maintain Viceroy’s valuable mineral rights in the area.

Thirteen SDM Lawyers named in 2019 Texas Super Lawyers
September 6, 2019

Congrats to all of the Scott Douglass Texas Super Lawyers.

The Top Women Attorneys in Texas 2020 - Super Lawyers
Paige Amstutz, Business Lit
Carroll Martin, Energy & Resources
Elizabeth Miller, Energy & Resources
Cindy Saiter, Business Lit
Jane Webre, Appellate
Kennon Wooten, General Lit

2019 Texas Super Lawyers
Paige Amstutz, Business Lit
Doug Dashiell, Energy & Resources
Casey Dobson, Business Lit
Sam Johnson, Civil Lit: Defense
Carroll Martin, Energy & Resources
Stephen McConnico, Business Lit
Davin McGinnis, Energy & Resources
Elizabeth Miller, Energy & Resources
Cynthia Saiter, Business Lit
Chris Sileo, Business Lit
Jane Webre, Appellate
Flip Whitworth, Energy & Resources
Kennon Wooten, General Lit

Congrats to SDM's Lawyers Recognized in The Best Lawyers in America 2020
August 15, 2019

Congratulations to Scott Douglass & McConnico's lawyers recognized in The Best Lawyers in America, 2020 Edition, in Austin, TX.

In addition to our 14 lawyers named to Best Lawyers, Casey Dobson has received the “Lawyer of the Year” award in Austin.

Paige Amstutz, Commercial Litigation
James N. Cowden, Oil and Gas Law
Douglas J. Dashiell, Oil and Gas Law
Casey L. Dobson, Lawyer of the Year, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation 
Sam Johnson, Professional Malpractice Law - Defendants
Carroll G. Martin, Oil and Gas Law, 2019 "Lawyer of the Year" award in Austin
Stephen E. McConnico, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Legal Malpractice Law - Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants, Professional Malpractice Law - Defendants
Elizabeth N. Miller, Natural Resources Law, 2019 "Lawyer of the Year" award in Austin, Oil and Gas Law
Cindy Saiter, Litigation - Trusts and Estates
John G. Soule, Oil and Gas Law
Catherine J. Webking, Energy Law
Jane M.N. Webre, Appellate Practice
H. Philip Whitworth, Jr., Natural Resources Law, Oil and Gas Law
Steve Wingard, Commercial Litigation

Steve McConnico named Trial Lawyer of the Year by TEX-ABOTA
June 17, 2019

Steve McConnico was named 2019 TRIAL LAWYER OF THE YEAR by TEX-ABOTA. In addition to his stellar legal career, Steve has been an active and ardent supporter of ABOTA and TEX-ABOTA for more than 30 years, which makes him especially deserving of this award. Steve served as the president of TEX-ABOTA in 1997, and president of the Austin chapter from 1993-95. 

According to TEX-ABOTA, perhaps Steve’s greatest contribution has been getting the organization involved at the Texas Legislature. During his term as president Steve spent some time testifying on ABOTA issues, but he helped lead TEX-ABOTA to a higher level in fighting HB 4 in 2003. Steve spent months at the legislature testifying against HB 4, and once it passed, he went around the state working with other ABOTA lawyers trying to educate the public about the true nature of the proposed constitutional amendment.

SDM Wins Fifth Circuit Appeal in Oil and Gas Case
June 14, 2019

On June 12, 2019, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit reversed an adverse summary judgment and rendered judgment in favor of our client, EnerQuest Oil & Gas, L.L.C., in a lawsuit over an area of mutual interest agreement.

The plaintiffs claimed that EnerQuest acquired various interests that were subject to the area of mutual interest provision; EnerQuest argued that they were not.

After the district court ruled against EnerQuest on cross-motions for summary judgment, SDM appealed the case to the Fifth Circuit. The Fifth Circuit issued a published opinion agreeing with EnerQuest’s interpretation of the agreement, reversing the district court’s summary judgment order and rendering judgment and costs for EnerQuest.

SDM Lawyers Dan Bitting, Santosh Aravind, and Willie Cochran handled the appeal, with Dan Bitting arguing the appeal to the Fifth Circuit.

Copies of the SDM briefs can be found here and here. A recording of the oral argument can be found here